Meet the Governors

Hello and welcome to Newlands Primary school.
Thank you for taking the time to visit our school website.

Meet the Governors

Membership of the Joint Local Governing Body

Membership of the Newlands Primary School Local Governance Committee




Date of Appointment

Term of Office

TypeResponsibilityDeclaration of Interest

Roger Silk

Appointed: 08.02.17 

Term:     28/09/2018-08/02/2021

Appointed by Trust

Thanet Joint Governing Body Member

Chair of Governors & Chair of Thanet Joint Governing Body
  • Governor at Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys. Interest Started in 2002.
  • Trustee, Director and Company Secretary of the Kent Cricket Board. Interest Started in 2013.

Georgina Glover

Appointed:  27.09.18

Term:             27/09/18- 27/09/2022

Thanet Joint Governing Body MemberVice Chair of Governors for Newlands Primary Academy
  • Governor at Simon Langton Grammar School for Girls.
  • Governor at Hoath & Chislet C of E Federation. Interest began 2007.
  • Governor at the Stour Academy
  • Canterbury City Council Councillor
  • Kent County Council Consultant for Legal and Democratic Services.
VacancyParent Governor Nil

Kirstie Phippin

Appointed:  09.02.16


Staff Governor 
  • 1 declared Family Influence, related to the Business Manager. Interest Started Feb 2016.

David Bailey


Head of School 


  • 1 declared Family Influence, Partner is also a TKAT Employee. Interest Started Sept 2005. 

Sam Atkinson 


Executive Headteacher
Ex- Officio
Kim Metcalfe  Clerk to the Governing body
  • The Education People, Clerk to school governors. Interest Began Nov 2016.

Leavers from 2017-2018


Term of Office
TypeResponsibilityDeclaration of Interest

Paul MIllis

Resignation Date: 09.05.18


Staff GovernorHealth & SafetyNil 

Neil Hornus

Removal: 27.09.18

09/11/16- 27/09/18

Appointed Governor Nil

Christian Markham 

Resignation: 31.08.18





Dame Janet and Newlands Local Governor Committee

NameRoleStart DateEnd DateMeetings attended 18/19
Roger SilkChairMay 2017May 20214/4
Bill HammondVice ChairJuly 20182019 Retired-ill health2/4
Nicola HaughieParent GovernorJuly 2017May 20214/4
Sarah HutleyTeaching staffMay 2017May 20211/4
Sam AtkinsonExecutive HeadteacherSept 2013 4/4
Juliet HerdClerk Support StaffJuly 2017July 20213/4
Simon MarshallHead of school-DJPASept 2018 4/4
David BaileyHead of school- NewlandsSept 2018 3/4
Georgina GloverVice Chair  4/4

Dame Janet and Newlands Local Governor Committee Leavers

NameRoleStart DateEnd DateMeetings attended 18/19
Bill HammondVice ChairJuly 20182019 Retired- ill health2/4
Jannette WatsonFinance GovernorMay 2017Oct 2019 


Click here for all events and dates.

Contact Us

Click here to get in touch.

Latest Tweets

Home start are recruiting volunteers now! To find out more email or ring Sharon Lewis on 01843 609665/609663 for an informal chat.
Did you know KCC have extended the application deadline for 2020 Reception starters? You can now apply for your schools until midnight on the 10th February.
A reminder for anyone that may need it. Applications for children starting Reception in September 2020 need to be completed by the 15th January.

Contact Us

For Information on how to contact us see below: Newlands Primary School Dumpton Lane, Ramsgate, Kent, CT11 7AJ

Phone: 01843 593 086


1 + 3 =

The Kemnal Academies Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales under company number 7348231. Its registered address is The Atkins Centre, Kemnal Technology College, Sevenoaks Way, Sidcup, Kent DA14 5AA. “Newlands Primary School” is a business name used by The Kemnal Academies Trust.

Privacy Policy Settings